Poetical Works of Me

Starlight Princess: A Short Story

Posted on: May 29, 2011

Once upon a time, in a small village, lived a beautiful young woman. This young woman only came out in the night and no one in the village knew where she came from or what her name was. When she came out, the stars shined brighter than anyone in the village had seen before her arrival, and the starlight she bought with her illuminated this young woman’s beauty. For these reasons, the people in the village knew her as the Starlight Princess.

Although no one knew anything about the Starlight Princess, everyone knew her very well. There was not a single person in the village who had not been to Starlight for advice, for she was very good at listening and shared her knowledge of life and the world with all who seeked it. The villagers always knew that Starlight could be found sat under a great oak tree beside the stream on the edge of an enchanted forest. There was a small waterfall downstream from where Starlight sat, and all around the waterfall grew beautiful flowers, such as gardenias and cardinal flowers. The forest itself was regarded as a dark, scary place by villagers and no one dared to enter it for a fear of what may lie beyond this beautiful point.

One night, Starlight was sat alone beneath the great oak tree, contemplating where this glorious world had come from. She had heard of many people talk of science and others of religion but Starlight, despite all her wisdom, could not decide how she believed the world had come to be. This was something Starlight had been contemplating for a long time. As Starlight sat and thought, an unfamiliar man’s voice came from behind her.

“Hello?” The voice nervously whispered.

Before Starlight had even begun to turn and see who this stranger was, she felt sure that the voice was of someone she had been waiting all of her life to meet, Prince Charming.

Starlight stood and turned to face this person, and instantly saw that she was right. There, stood Prince Charming, dressed impeccably with a smile as gentle as morning mist. His eyes were as mesmerising as the night sky and in the buttonhole of his jacket was a single gardenia.

“Starlight,” The prince smiled. “May I join you?”

Starlight shyly nodded and indicated for him to sit on a purple silk blanket laid out on the ground beside the roots of the tree. The prince sat down and Starlight joined him. There, under a blanket of stars, sat on a blanket of silk, the pair talked til dawn. They talked about anything, everything and nothing. Starlight felt as if she had known this man forever. Little did she know that he felt the same.

For the following month, the Prince visited Starlight nearly every night and they sat and talked under the stars just like on the first night. However, at the end of this exciting month, Prince Charming had some news.

“Starlight, my sweet, I am to leave tomorrow to seek out new adventures in a new kingdom”

Starlight was deeply saddened by this news, for she had fallen in love with the prince. Although Starlight tried very hard to not let her pain show, for she wanted the prince to always be happy, the prince sensed it.

“Starlight,” The prince said, lifting her hand, “I love you too.”

Starlight lifted her face to reveal the biggest smile the prince had ever seen. She wrapped her arms around his neck and he around her waist. In that moment, they felt the perfect silence surround them.

After a long moment, the prince sat Starlight down on the blanket and made an announcement, “When I return, I will be making you my queen. But I have one problem, where will I find you if I return in the day?”

Starlight had never told anyone where she lived. All the prince knew was that Starlight often left through the forest. Where she ended up, he did not know.

“My prince, I trust you like no other, so I will tell you in the hope this makes you think no less of me.” Starlight whispered, “I do not have a home. I live in the forest.”

This startled the prince but he did not let it show, he thought quickly and responded, “Come with me.”

The prince grabbed Starlight’s hand and whisked her off to his home, in the heart of the village. Upon seeing the home of this prince, Starlight was astonished. This was no palace, it was merely a humble home.

“I must admit, I am no prince. I am just a man who fell in love with your beauty from the day he met you” the prince sighed.

“You are my prince and you shall one day be my king. Your home is greater than I could have imagined. Thank you for showing it to me.”

“Darling, this is not just for you to see my home. I would like you to live here with me.”

Once again, Charming had pleasantly surprised Starlight. She looked up at him and graciously accepted this offer. The lovers entered their home for the first time together and slept beside each other.

The next morning, Charming was due to leave. Starlight saw him off from the doorway of her new home.

3 months later, Starlight’s prince returned and they got married. The happiness they shared filled all around them with hope and lasted forever. Some even say it lasted longer than they lived.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • 5 July 2011 – Tuesday Morning | April's Fool: [...]  My lunch date cancelled, so that left me home alone chilling… which may not have been a good thing… I went back to the ‘Poetical Wor
  • Shannan: The love you have been so blessed to experience is tangible in your writing. I'm not sure if they are all on the same person, or through various years

Categories